Why is it necessary to take the Italian B1 level for citizenship?

As you may have heard, due to the recent amendments to the Italian law it is now compulsory to take the Italian B1 level for citizenship.

This new law states that all those who apply for the Italian citizenship, either if they are married to an Italian or if they are resident in Italy, must prove an adequate knowledge of the Italian language: at least the B1 level of the CEFR (Common European Framework of Reference for languages).

This means that applicants must obtain an official Italian B1 certification.

These certifications are released by:

What does the B1 Italian level mean?

Applicants at a B1 level should be able to communicate in daily situations (orally and in writing), to understand the main points of a clear standard input about familiar topics, to read and understand the general meaning and main information of linear texts about general topics.

In addition, they should be able to talk about daily topics, to describe experiences and events, express their opinions, make comparisons and give suggestions.

What grammar does the B1 level include?

Definite and Indefinite Articles, Qualifying Adjective, Personal Pronouns, Relative Pronouns, Possessive Adjectives and Pronouns, Demonstrative Adjectives and Pronouns, Interrogative Adjectives and Pronouns, Indefinite Adjectives and Pronouns, Combined Prepositions.

The following tenses of Regular, Reflexive, Modal and Irregular Verbs:

  • Present Indicative
  • Passato Prossimo Indicative
  • Imperfetto Indicative
  • Present Infinitive
  • Imperative
  • Present Conditional

Besides, the B1 level includes common adverbs (time, space, quality and quantity).

Let’s read more about the CILS exam!

The CILS B1 exam consists of five parts: Listening, Reading Comprehension, Grammar, Writing and Speaking.

If candidates fail one or more parts of the exam, they can repeat only that parts within 18 months from the first exam taken.

Alternatively, it is possible to take the CILS B1 Cittadinanza.

This exam has been created specifically for this purpose, which means that it is not valid to apply for university or jobs.

It includes four parts and fewer tasks than the standard B1 exam: listening (2 tasks), reading and use of language (2 tasks), writing (1 task), speaking (1 task).

Unlike the other exam, the CILS B1 Cittadinanza has to be passed in full: it means that if candidates fail one part of the exam, it is not possible to repeat only that part but they have to do the whole exam once again.

Read more about the differences between B1 standard and B1 Cittadinanza here.

Normally it is possible to take the exam in all the CILS centres around the world.